This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

momfess:ttues

I’m excited for Andrea’s link-up today. One of my favorite things is hearing how people met…did they hate each other first? was one dating the other’s sibling? did they meet in middle school? were they best friends for a while? Oddly enough, i’ve heard all of those stories. I’m sure i’ll be doing some major blog hopping today.

 I had more people scheduled, but they didn’t get back to me, so today i’m just sharing two stories with you. Because i’m not in a relationship, I thought i’d have Emily and Reese post. I texted them on Sunday and told them the gist of what was going on today and they all agreed. So, let’s see how God put these different couples together….

Emily and Tyler

Tyler Tyler Tyler, where even to begin…

Freshman year biology I guess is where you could say it all began. Entering high school was a whole new world with so many new faces. Tyler and I were paired up to be lab partners and to be honest he never really had much to say, haha. He was quiet, kinda shy, and still hung out with the same group of kids he grew up with. I on the other hand was a little more outgoing, and was excited to be in the new environment of high school. As the year went on friendships began to grow and I noticed that Tyler and I started to have a lot of friends in common, we started talking more and more in class and feelings started to appear (at least on my end). It’s kind of a blur how things matured with us but before you know it Tyler and I were dating. We both brought different things to the relationship and fed off of each other’s energy when we were together. As the relationship continued I grew closer with his family and he with mine. It was only a couple moths into the relationship when Tyler told me he loved me, I can honestly say I had never had a boyfriend so this was a real curve ball and I worried we were moving too fast when in reality Tyler just knew from the beginning it was right.

Do you recognize the girl on the right??

Do you recognize the girl on the right??

Tyler was my best friend, we challenged each other academically, supported each other mentally, and shared the same values. Eventually our families became best friends as well and from then on we had family vacations every summer. Fast forward to two years into the relationship and the relationship was now very serious and intense, and that’s when the fear set in. At 16 I considered myself too young to be in such a serious relationship and I found myself questioning if Tyler was going to be my forever. Eventually these thoughts lead us to breaking up, I don’t think I had ever been so devastated… even though I felt as though it was important to experience new things I was scared that maybe I had made the wrong decision and I had lost him forever.

Senior homecoming. They were dating other people at this point.

Senior homecoming. They were dating other people at this point.

Over the next two years of high school our feelings towards each other changed as we both dated other people and for a long time we had a mutual hatred of each other, we couldn’t even stand to be in the same room, but our families still loved our vacations, which continued while we were broken up. (I swear my parents thought it was funny) one summer after a huge fight that was it, Tyler and I completely cut ties.

One of their many family vacations.

One of their many family vacations.

Senior year rolled around and I found myself in the middle of my parent’s messy divorce, there were so many times I had wished that Tyler was there to help me through but he was in a serious relationship and we continued to grow apart. Before I knew it we were both walking across the stage at graduation. That fall I started my freshman year at the University of Arkansas while Tyler was at ole Miss. (6 hours apart)

Fast forward again to summer of 2014, our parents (who had remained friends) decided it was time to start up the family vacations again that had been neglected since the start of college. This was the first time Tyler and I had spent time together since the start of college and boy did it start out rough. We fought, bickered, and complained. One night we were outside talking (actually getting along) because I was upset over my mom’s new boyfriend, Tyler comforted me and for the first time in a long time I felt unconditional love. So here we are, Tyler and I are back together and yes distance is hard but he’s worth it in so many ways.

Tyler changed my life, he challenges me in every aspect of life and encourages me to be a better person. He is the dreamer to my doubt and has the biggest heart. After seven years I have learned every side to him and while it might not always be pretty, there is no one else I would want to share a life with. Our time apart matured our relationship and made us both realize how important we were to one another. I thank god every day that we found our way back. I love Tyler to death and cannot wait to see what the future holds for us.

s&tem-7

Couldn’t you just cry?? The first thing I think of when I look at their relationship is that quote…”If you love something, set it free. If it comes back to you, it’s yours. If it doesn’t, it never was.” I love Tyler and Emily like they are part of my family. You two are my best friends and i’m happy you found your way back together! 🙂

Reese and Diana
This is their very first picture together.

This is their very first picture together.

I met her in our environmental science class. (I hate science). I saw her and I
thought she was soooo pretty! First thought right off the bat. I made small talk
but never anything big. Then I finally moved closer to her in class and then had
conversations with her. Always asked for a pen for two reasons. I actually
needed one and I wanted to talk to her. She always dressed up for me trying to
impress me but I never picked up on that (I know I’m a bright one). Then we had to do a group project and that’s how I got her number because the group exchanged numbers or else i don’t know when I would have. My first text I ever sent to her was “SNACKS!!!” because I always told her to bring snacks to class because four hours is a long class! Needless to say she failed at that haha. But we kept talking and she came over Friday night (November 14) and I gave her a tour of the house and then I looked at her and kissed her and that’s how I asked her out. ❤️ everyone that
has met her loves her. She’s the first and only girl to ever go to grandpas and
the dog farm. I can’t wait to bring her there when everyone’s there. She’s so
amazing. That whole semester she’s the best thing that came out of it. I don’t know what I would do without her. She treats me great. There are no words to describe the feelings we have for one another ❤️

So cute!!

So cute!!

Reese, Grandpa, Diana

Reese, Grandpa, Diana

This was Valentine's day this year.

This was Valentine’s day this year.

Our family always makes fun of Reese. He never had a girlfriend and he’d always talk about how he was going to bring a date to a family event…(he’s a talker.) Now I can say this because Reese is my cousin….but he’s always been one to jump into things really fast. Any little relationship he had he says I like her so much and I told him to shut up because he’s 12 hahah, but I will say this relationship has been different and i’m surprised she’s stuck around this long 😉 When he told me about her I was thinking in my head “gah, this will be a week.” But it’s been 4 months! (Love you Reese, don’t hate me!!!) I haven’t met Diana yet, but i’m glad she’s made my Reeser happy.

And because we are talking about the L word go watch this video about a couple who’s been married for 56 years. Melt. My. Heart.

Also, don’t forget to enter my giveaway from Friday Favorites last week, because i’ll be announcing my winner TOMORRROW!!!! Happy Tuesday!

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud