This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Em Turned 21!

This past Saturday, the 7th my very best girl turned 21. You know her, right? You’ve seen her around the blog a couple times. I love Emily and her friendship (it’s the kind that ya never want to let go of) and i’m so happy she’s finally 21!!!! I wish I could’ve gone to Fayetteville this weekend to her, but I couldn’t make it.

(If this isn’t our first picture together, it’s close to it.) We made these shirts for spirit wear our freshman year of high school.

ems

This was our little high school crew. Junior year seems so long ago.

Do you recognize the girl on the right??

We joined a dodgeball team randomly with our boyfriends and their friends and we were called “Balls ‘n dolls”. We made these shirts one night and I guess after work decided to do face masks together. She and I used to wash each other’s hair! Hahaha

IMG_2719

Our sophomore year we went after school one day to turn in applications to work at a restaurant, and we walked out with a job that day. We worked there together until she got fired (hahahah) and I recently stopped because of my new job. Best friends shouldn’t work together. And they’d purposely try not to schedule us where we would be together because things like this happen 😉

ems2

We went through probably two random “seasons” in high school where we didn’t talk to one another. I think it was over stupid high school girly drama, but this was our senior homecoming. My boyfriend of 3 years and I had just broken up and I was planning to sit at home on senior homecoming and she said “NO you’re not” and had me come with her group that year. She did my hair and forced me to come out. Because she’s a good friend like that.

ems3

We were basically attached at the hip all the way through high school, I have some of my best memories with this girl. There were times we were both competitive with each other. We could both admit that, but after being snappy and having intense conversations we were ready to be around each other again! Kind of like a marriage haha.

IMG_0669

We dated guys who were friends (a couple times) so that we could all hang out and sonic was the hang out. There was a story after this picture, but i’ll spare you 😉

IMG_1576

We didn’t go to prom in the same group, but we did meet up to get a picture at the dance.

IMG_0582

And we hung out after baccalaureate with Tyler (her ex boyfriend at the time, but current boyfriend now!) and it was SUPER AWKWARD!!!!

IMG_0887

The summer after we graduated we went off to our different schools and talked for a while.

IMG_1620

She came to Norman in the fall to visit me for a weekend. And it was so much fun being reunited with someone I was familiar with. We both pledged Pi Phi and became friends on a whole new level. We were sisters!

IMG_0171IMG_2359

And then I went to Fayetteville that spring to surprise her for her 19th birthday. And she cried. Because she’s the crier in this relationship friendship. It was so fun.

IMG_0308

And we hung out a couple times that first semester when we each came home for breaks. And I give her credit for always wanting to hang out even when I couldn’t sometimes.

IMG_2890

I only saw her a handful of times when I was going through that weird time at OU, but every time she comes home now we see each other and I truly miss her. A LOT. It stinks not having your best friend close to you to do things with or randomly say “i’m coming over”. Or having sleepovers and pillow fights. Kidding, we didn’t do that.

IMG_4765 IMG_4692 IMG_4639IMG_4584 IMG_4550 IMG_4551

        I love you, Ems. Thanks for your constant friendship even when I was a brat, and mean, and whatever else high school girls are. I always have fun with you no matter what we’re doing and you make me laugh until my abdomen hurts. You’re my better half (don’t tell my future husband) And I couldn’t ask for anything else in a best friend. NOW GET HOME AND LET’S GO TO KENNY CHESNY AND DRINK A BEER ALREADY!! XOXOXOXO

Comments on: "Em Turned 21!" (3)

  1. Happy Birthday Emily!!! Love this post so much. Best friends are the bestest. 🙂 I’M GOING TO KENNY CHESNEY THIS SUMMER TOO! ❤

    Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud