This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Why, Happy Tuesday y’all!

One of the coolest things about having this blog is having guest bloggers come over to post. Today, i’m introducing you to Christina at The New Mrs. I really couldn’t tell you how I found Christina’s blog…but I can tell you that I am glad I did. I feel like I share a lot in common with her and that’s one of my favorite things…having something in common with other people! So, without me rambling on any longer, let’s let Christina take it away!


Hi all, I’m Christina and I blog over at The New Mrs. where you can find me talking about everyday life, marriage and relationships, traveling, a little bit of fashion, a pinch of home decorating and some recipes.  I’m also always sharing about my husband and my new puppy Stella.  I also talk a lot about the hosting/entertaining that we do, which leads me to today’s post.

christina-hosting

When Molly asked me to do a guest post on something that I love and anyone else could too I thought for a little bit a second and quickly decided to talk about hosting.  Hosting friends and family at our home is most definitely one of my very top favorites to do and ANYONE can do it.  Whether you live alone, with a significant other, with a roommate, with your parents or in an apartment or house – it’s something so easy to do and something so fun to do.

My husband and I got married last September and our new home was finished being built the July before.  I was giddy with excitement to have my own space to host parties and events in.  Not that it didn’t stop me from hosting at my parents house or loving attending the dinners and gatherings my Mom hosted.

So why am I talking about marriage and house building when I’m suppose to be talking about hosting?  Because I’ve hosted more in the past year than ever before.  And I’d be lying if I said I didn’t love it.  I’m a homebody for sure.  You know that Sam Hunt song? My husband always sings it to me and says “So you’re a homebody, let’s have a house party” … and we do!!  (this is Molly – see what I mean guys…we’re both homebody’s and listen to Sam Hunt. okay, sorry back to Christina!) I understand my meaning of house party and his are different but whatever!!

christina-hosting1

christina-hosting2

Okay – so back why Molly asked me here – HOSTING – So since I explained above, I’m a homebody and would much rather have the entertaining scene come to me. It’s funny how times will change – so that leads me into hosting…

+ Bring the party to yourselves! Make at least one place in your home a place that you’d want to have people over.  We tend to use our deck and our basement because there is a bar.

+ Who isn’t obsessed with Pinterest??! Aren’t there so many recipes that you want to try out?  I know there are more than I could imagine.  During the week we try to eat healthy & simple meals.  On the weekends, we indulge!! So when we are hosting someone for a BBQ I am surely going to take the chance to try out those big recipes that I’ve been wanting to – the biggest plus to hosting.

 + Formal vs informal.  Your house, your entertaining, your rules! I love that hosting can be as simple as jeans and a tshirt and a little BBQ on the deck or as formal as fancy outfits and a nice sit down dinner.

+ Pick your serveware.  Part of the fun of working hard in the kitchen for me is to have a nice display for whoever we’re hosting.  I love my platters to match – if possible and always have a few simple white pieces because they go with everything.  This time of the year is of course the best – who doesn’t want to be entertaining when the sunlight stays out past 8pm – so I like to have a set of outdoor serveware as well. I mean I don’t want to be cleaning up broken pieces if something breaks!

christina-hosting3

christian-hosting4

christina-hosting5

Molly, thank you SO much for having me.

Colors of Life followers, be sure to pop by my blog and say hello or follow along on instagram.


I don’t know about y’all, but I am ready to leave work right now and head on over to Christina’s for a party!!! It looks fabulous and I know I could sure learn some things! Thanks for guest posting, girl! And in case you all missed any other part of this little series…

I talked about “Why I love running, and you can too!
As well as “Why I love yoga, and you can too!
Kylie at Kylie McGraw told us “Why she loves spinning, and you can too!
Jamie at The Celebrating Momma told us “Why she loves celebrating, and you can too!

Comments on: "Why Christina loves hosting, and you can too!" (6)

  1. Thanks for having me today, Molly!!

    Like

  2. This is such a fun series! I have to read the others and catch up!

    I just started following Christina lately too, found her through one of Shay’s link ups I think.

    🙂

    Like

  3. I need to take some of Christina’s advice! I really want to be more intentional about having friends and family over to my place! I really am a homebody, but they can be homebodies with me. 🙂

    Like

    • I feel the same way. Sometimes it’s just so easy to not do something versus planning a get together. But I love what she does, so I definitely need to keep that in mind!

      Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud