This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Monday 7/13

Every summer we travel the 12 hours to my grandpa’s house in Southeast Iowa. It’s a long car ride and super boring but we love going every year and always have fun. Just like we did last year. So it’s totally worth it. Our original plan was to head out last Saturday and then stay overnight in Kansas and get to my grandpa’s Sunday night. Well….thanks to my brother’s baseball tournament running late and Morgan inviting a friend we got backtracked two days and ended up leaving at 6:00am on Monday. Headed to Omaha, Nebraska.

IMG_8088

Six people minus dad tightly packed into our car with all of our luggage at 6:00 Monday morning. I mean now you understand why i’d look like I do hahah.

IMG_8089

An hour into our car ride I was checking the blog and reading yours 🙂

IMG_8090

And by 8:17 I cracked open my coffee and started munching on some almonds…#roadtripprobz

IMG_8091

Usually if I wake up at any point in the morning, I can’t go back to sleep. So at 8:30am I started into my book (which i’ve finished already and loved FYI).

IMG_8092

And these people were straight SNOOZIN’ around me.

IMG_8093

All goners. It took 2 hours for them to finally stop yapping and go to sleep so I could focus on my book. I know, right? SO rude and inconsiderate.

IMG_8094

By 9:00 we hit Norman, Oklahoma. Home to the University of Oklahoma. We had to stop at the Walmart and check on the carrying case with our luggage on the top of the car because mom thought it sounded weird. And apparently she decided to wait until we were 3 hours into the car ride and everyone was asleep. Okay mom.

IMG_8099

After a couple more potty breaks and a lunch stop at McDonalds…we were at my uncle’s house for dinner by 6:40pm. Beer canned chicken for the win.

IMG_8101

With the most delicious potatoes you’ll ever have.

IMG_8102

I mean…thank goodness i’m not a vegetarian because this meal was delicious. And my uncle is an amazing cook!

IMG_8104

We had a big ol’ crew of 12 people eating some good ol’ grub. What a great start to family vacation!

IMG_8105

By 8:15 my Aunt and I realized that we were missing out on the Bachelor!!! So we ran inside to turn it on and well, that’s just another story for a different time. This season of the Bachelor is something else and I really think she’s going to end up with a loser either way. #itwontworkkaitlyn

IMG_8106

After that meal we were all exhausted and headed back to my aunt and cousin’s house where we were staying to go to sleep.

And that was day 1 of vacation! I love July just for this reason.

Comments on: "Iowa 2015: Day 1" (21)

  1. Oh car trips with family! Gotta love them :-). I grew up taking trips to Iowa to see family (although it was a 6 hour drive for us) and have some great memories. Enjoy your family time!

    Like

  2. I have to say I’m not a fan of road trips – i can’t be in a car for more than 3 hours…it just does something to my brain!!! Can’t wait to read more about your vacation! xo, biana –BlovedBoston

    Like

  3. Yay for family time and road trips. I love it when everyone falls asleep and you can finally whip out your book 🙂 best!

    Like

  4. Fun that you guys do this every year!! I’m not sure if I could handle that car ride, ha! The huge family dinner to start the trip looks great.

    Like

  5. I have made that similar trip way too many times the past 3 summers…..I’m dying to drive (or fly) to Davenport, Iowa to see my boy play ball but I’m trying to hold off. Have a fun trip….roadtripping with the family is always an event and makes special memories!

    Like

    • I plan to have a blast 🙂 And you just made a trip to Omaha for the CWS so i’m sure you feel my pain! Davenport is minutes from where my Grandpa lives. How fun!

      Like

  6. I’m definitely a flight over car ride kinda gal so I am impressed by your road trip! Family vacations are the best–have fun!!

    Like

  7. gotta love family road trips! the best! looks like day 1 was a success! 🙂

    Like

  8. I totally miss road trips when I don’t have to drive. Now just driving to my parents’ which is about three hours away makes me go crazy. But if I don’t have to drive…I’m golden. I also usually can’t fall asleep once I’m awake in the morning. Looks like a fun trip so far!

    Like

    • Yep that’s just like me. When I’m awake, I’m awake. I feel like the older I get the harder it is to sit there for long periods of time. Sigh. I want to stay little!

      Like

  9. Road trips are so fun! We’re packing up the car and heading out Saturday morning. It can’t get here fast enough!!

    Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud