This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

This past weekend I set out to Louisiana with sister time on the mind. We moved her in the very first weekend of August. Then, my dad needed someone to drive with him at the end of August to her first game so I went. The brothers and I had plans to drive to one of her away games that was closer, but we never made it. I asked her if she wanted me to just come up one weekend and I could stay with her, she said yes, so we made plans for this past weekend since I hadn’t seen her in about 2 months

I took a half day at work so by noon on Friday I was southbound on I-45 to Louisiana…coffee in hand. You just have to on a 6 hour drive.IMG_9564

I arrived at 5:30, which is of course when she had to be at the field for her game that night. I met her in front of the field house for a hello hug and then took her dorm keys to go put my stuff in there and hang out for a little while until I had to be at the game.

IMG_9566

At 6:50 they started announcing the starters and Morgan’s name was called. #proudsistermoment

IMG_9568

She told me to get there a little before start time because she had a ball to throw to me. I just said okay, but mainly because I knew what that meant. We used to do this in high school.

IMG_9569

I don’t know how it started but somehow the siblings started calling me Giss pronounced like it rhymes with siss. Anyways she told me that her teammates saw it and thought she called me “Jizz” so they wrote it on there. So funny. I brought this to work to put in my office as a little way to make me smile when I look at it.

IMG_9570

Within 15 minutes MORGAN SCORED HER FIRST COLLEGE GOAL!!!!! And I was hooping and hollering. She told me she was going to turn around and point to me, but she chickened out. Ugh. But I was so so so so proud of her. They ended up winning the game with her 1 goal. YAY! And at halftime we were introduced to some costume contest kiddos.

IMG_9572

And after the game we went back to Morgan’s dorm for her to shower and then headed to a local Mexican restaurant for some fajitas, chips-n-salsa (I could live off this), and a margarita!!! I had some marg leftover but didn’t want to leave it because I paid 12 darn dollars for that thing. And since you can’t take open alcohol we asked for a togo cup for water, threw my margarita in there, and bolted out of the restaurant hahah.

IMG_9574

Then we went back to her room to watch some Grey’s Anatomy and call it nights. Her schools fall break was this weekend so there weren’t any students there for us to go out, but we enjoyed hanging out and watching movies. Now, doesn’t this make you wish you were still in a dorm 😉 Morgan’s obsession with Spiderman wore off on her pumpkin that she carved the other weekend.

IMG_9576IMG_9575

Saturday morning we hit IHop pre-practice. This was the worst iHop experience ever. We ended up not even paying for our food and tipping out waitress. The manager was rude to us as well and we called our mom as we left to tell her she’d need to bail us out of jail later 😉

IMG_9577

While Morg was at practice I wasted time in her dorm watching friends…then doing crunches…then looking through her food…and brewing coffee that I didn’t even want. Longest hour and a half ever!!

IMG_9578

After her practice we came back so she could change…into another freaking t-shirt because that’s all homegirl wears. But to be honest so do I. I can’t blame her that much. We went up to the mall to do a little shopping.

IMG_9580 IMG_9582

And afterwards went to a restaurant she is OBSESSED with and has taken everyone that has come to visit her. Her dish is basically a Hawaiian pizza on salmon. Mine was salmon with shrimp, artichokes, mushrooms, and tomatoes on top. Both were so delicious and I totally see why she takes everyone there!

IMG_9586 IMG_9587

After dinner we went to Old Navy, did some grocery shopping for her, then went back to her dorm for another successful movie night consisting of a chick-flick and The Wild Thornberrys movie because we Middleton girls are crazy.

IMG_9588

Sunday morning she woke up late so we opted for a breakfast at her cafe, to which I always sample everything. Because when it’s unlimited, you have to. It’s so funny that everywhere you go in Lousiana there is red beans and rice plus grits offered. (The lighting is really weird it’s not that my food is discolored FYI)

IMG_9590

She left me at the cafe in all my gluttonous glory while she went to the field for her game. I didn’t have a key so I had to walk over there to get a key so that I could shower and pack up. And wow this is a flattering picture.

IMG_9592

They unfortunately lost this game in overtime because the ref called a handball in the goalie’s box. STUPID. Refs that call that type of stuff are ridiculous. But it didn’t stop me from being a proud sis this weekend. Morgan has done so well with soccer and school and making friends and all things college. I miss her a ton but I love seeing her do what she does out of the field.

IMG_9599

About halfway through my drive home she realized that I had her socks that we bought this weekend, so I took a picture to make her mad. Hehe.

IMG_9606

And on my way home I also said goodbye to ol’ Sam Houston.

IMG_9607

And I always hear people saying they stopped at Buccee’s or they’re wearing a shirt with the little beaver on it. If you’re not aware, it’s just a really big and popular gas station in Madisonville, Texas. I think it’s other places too though. I stopped in for a potty break and to get some water and look around to see what all the hustle and bustle was about.

IMG_9608

I mean they had a variety of things. I think they are known for their beaver nuggets, which I almost got but I just wasn’t wanting anything sweet, so I got a fruit bowl. Which was still good! And so fresh!

IMG_9609

Less than 30 minutes outside of Dallas I hit this awwwfffuulllllll traffic. It just so happened the day I was driving through and the day after from 6pm-6am they were doing construction on 2 lanes of the highway. COOL.

IMG_9610

But eventually I hit D-Town and boogied all the way through to home.

IMG_9617

And got up early Monday morning for work. It’s hard being an adult sometimes. But it was so worth it all just to spend some time with my sis and see her goal in person. I love weekends like this. Thanks for having me, sister!!!

Comments on: "To Louisiana For Morgan" (18)

  1. Seriously how fun was your weekend?! Gotta love some good mexican food after an event, it made my stomach growl to just see it! I love the jizz soccer ball hahah!
    Linds @ Not A Mom

    Like

  2. helloredds said:

    Hey Molly,

    Sounds like you are a wonderful and supportive big sister! I’ll bet Morgan loved having you there for the weekend!

    Be careful driving all of those Texas roads!

    I was parked by you on Waiting on Wed. today.

    Hope you have a blessed day~
    Melanie

    Like

  3. rothseri said:

    Such a nice post! It is always nice seeing siblings after a long period of time. I haven’t seen my twin sister since she left for school at the beginning of August. I’ve been missing her like crazy!! I am actually going home this weekend for the first time since August so I am very excited to see my parents/ back home friends!

    Like

  4. My Urban Family said:

    Sounds like such a fun weekend! This made me miss my brother so much – but only 2 months until hes home for a couple weeks!

    Like

  5. So awesome you got to spend time with your sister!! And congrats to her on her first college goal. That’s awesome!

    Like

  6. Is that high brew coffee in your first picture? I bought one once at Target and LOVED it and since then haven’t been able to find them there. This post reminded me of my college days with all the soccer and also made me wish I had a sister.

    p.s.- I’ve totally snuck margaritas out of a restaurant before too.

    Like

    • You have good eyes! It is High Brew. I found it at Kroger, Walmart, and Market Street if you have any of those. So glad i’m not the only one to sneak margaritas out of a restaurant…this is why we need to hang out! Ha!

      Like

  7. Haha YES I love that you put your margarita in a to-go cup! Isn’t that like a thing in LA anyway? Or New Orleans? I remember my friend telling me she got a daiquiri at a drive-thru.. I could be wrong though lol

    Like

  8. Ahhh SO exciting that you got to see her first goal, which happened to be the GAME WINNER! That’s amazing. Also I love that you watched the Wild Thornberries movie and those socks from Old Navy!

    Like

  9. What a fun weekend with your sister! Its sounds like you got to share and really see her college experience! Love that!

    Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud