This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Date Paste

This is not a difficult recipe in the least, however, now that it goes in about all of my recipes I decided I need to blog about it. So today I am giving my beloved date paste a post of it’s own.

I’m here to tell you that there’s no way you can screw this up!!! Whoopie!!

datepastepin

There’s really no measurements here. It’s however much you want because however many dates you use, the more paste you’re going to get.

Put however much of your pitted dates into a measuring cup. In this case, it was 3/4 of a cup.

IMG_1232

I leave it in the same measuring cup #lessdishes and cover it with hot water from the faucet.

IMG_1233

Let them soak for at least 10 minutes, the longer the better. The softer they are the easier/faster to get your paste. Then, you’ll put them in your food processor.

IMG_1235

You’ll process until there are no more large chunks of dates and it comes out looking like a paste. Just like this picture (minus the big date on top ;)). I store mine in mason jars in the refrigerator and it works beautifully in all my recipes.

IMG_0866

Guess what? That’s it!! How easy, right?

Reasons I love date paste:

  • It adds the sweetness when you need it in a recipe, but it’s not overpowering.
  • It’s all natural sugar. It’s like replacing bananas in your recipes. A total health conscious option.
  • It keeps long in the refrigerator.
  • This is sugar detox approved!!!!! And paleo, vegan, and whole 30.
  • This should be your sweetener of choice.
  • You should listen to me. 😉

However, it’s not as sweet as sugar. When I use it in recipes, my mom is still not a fan of whatever it is because it’s not sweet enough. But for me and my tastebuds…it’s perfect! I’m not eating straight flour in my pancakes when I can add date paste to sweeten because yes, pancakes, breads, etc. all have sugar. I might have eaten it by the spoonful before. Maybe. When you’re just starting out using this date paste be sure to keep that in mind!

Do you use date paste? What do you think about it?

Comments on: "Date Paste" (4)

  1. I love using dates as dessert!! Can you share some recipes of what you use it in?

    Like

  2. Emily said:

    I love date paste! I’ve also bought date sugar before – pure dates, somehow ground up into a powder and it looks kind of like brown sugar!

    Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud