This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

August 5, 2014

 Rick turns 15!!

Holy poop. Oldie. It seems like just yesterday “baby broey” was the nerdiest brother with a squeaky little voice…

DSC01391DSC01606IMG_0188

Okay well, he’s still nerdy. I’m totally getting mom-like sentimental because we were just dressing him up.

 IMG_0536

and now he’s sprouted like weed.

DSC02786

Rick is one of the most animated people ever, which is weird because he was always a shy kid. We were at the farm for his birthday and we don’t get the internet at my grandpas. Most nights my brothers stayed at my aunt and uncles house because they have wifi. 15 year old boy and his computer games? Duh. So I didn’t really see him on his birthday but I can tell you this: we got gramps a new bed for Rick’s birthday. Grandpa was really ready for a new bed because while we were running some errands (my mom and I) all of a sudden we got a call from my aunt saying that she was coming with grandpa’s pick-up to meet us at Costco for his new bed. And she did just that. About 3 hours later we had a new bed (which we think he loves). Within minutes of the bed being set up I walk into his room to see….

IMG_1625

him really enjoying it. Isn’t he funny? This is hilarious. He stayed there for a good 30 minutes testing out his bed. And magically within three nights his back pain has gone away. Let me tell you, what he was sleeping on was harder than a wooden board. No wonder he was having back pains. After we got the bed set up it was about 9pm. We spent almost the entire day getting grandpas new bed. But I wanted to make Rick a cake. And so I did…a camo cake with orange frosting. His favorite color. And he hated it.

IMG_1629 IMG_1634

But it’s cute right?? He said it was too “eggy”…he has no tastebuds.

Today he is off to his first day of driver’s ed. Lord help us all! Actually, he drove on the highways in Iowa so he’s had a little experience.

 IMG_1638

Other than video games, playing with dogs on the farm, and getting grandpa’s new bed Rick got a cake for his birthday! I forgot to get pictures of his presents but he added a new Red Sox shirt to his wardrobe, A Univ. of Iowa pillow, some of his “riot points” for his computer game, and an Oakley Lanyard perfect for a newly driving 15 year old.

He didn’t complain so i’d say it was a 15 year-old success!

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud