This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Books in July

Well well, it’s the 1st Wednesday of the month and therefore I have something cool planned for the rest of our 1st Wednesdays at the bottom of this post. But don’t you dare skip my review on these books, I know how you people operate!!!!

I have been a reading machine this month. My grandma would be so proud of me. When she would come down to visit us she always brought AT LEAST 3 books and had them done within the week and a half she was here. And her and I would read together before bed. She loved reading, and it’s starting to wear off on me in my older age 😉

So, here are the 4 books I read this July starting with my most recent:

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

IMG_8318

I just finished this book on Saturday night. Yes, I spend my Saturday nights reading books. And no, I have no problem with it whatsoever. My mom actually started this book before me and didn’t like it, so I decided I would take it off of her hands and see what I thought. And I feel like i’m going against the odds here to say I didn’t like it at first. I couldn’t get into it, I couldn’t understand it, and I was confused why everyone raved about this book. I think it was around chapter 12 that I FINALLY got the hang of things (there’s 3 different people’s stories to follow) and really enjoyed it. This was a big ol’ book being 400 pages long. Was it my favorite read? Not really. Did I hate it? No. Maybe one of Liane Moriarty’s other books is good…so i’ll probably try another one. Any recommendations as to which one next?

The Vow by Kim and Krickitt Carpenter

IMG_8195

The Vow was a super simple, super quick read. I picked it up at the store because I had seen the movie and didn’t know that it was based on true events. For those of you who are unfamiliar, the couple gets into a car accident where the wife loses all short term memory including the fact that she’s married and the husband tries to make her fall in love with him again. It’s sad but uplifting at the same time. They are a Christian couple and it talks a lot about their walk with God in the process. If you need a light, lovable read…The Vow. And watch the movie if you haven’t!

One Light Still Shines by Marie Monville

onelightstillshines

This book is written by the wife on the man who committed the Amish schoolhouse shooting. I really didn’t remember anything about that particular incident. It happened in 2006, I was in 6th grade and of course didn’t watch any kind of news. The only reason I ended up getting the book was because I felt like everywhere I looked I saw it. I’m so glad I read it. This is also a Christian book and talks about how she relied on God during this tragedy. If you’re an easy crier, you’ll probably cry ’cause I felt myself getting teary eyed at one part and i’m definitely not a crier. It’s worth a shot reading!

Let’s All Be Brave by Annie F. Downs

letsallbebrave

It feels like I read Annie’s book forever ago. I loved this one! She’s real and shares about different parts of her life that I know I can really relate to. There were many times I would read something and think “uh-huh” or “me too!”. Annie throws in Bible verses or Bible passages that relate to whichever topic that she is talking about in that chapter making it all the more meaningful. The main thing I think of in regards to this book is the word relatable. Especially when she mentions loving being at home and not wanting to leave her little bubble. Ugh, brave stuff is hard.

FUN NEWS!

I’m starting a new link-up for all of us book lovers/book readers to join in on! I’ve been wanting to host a link-up for about, eh forever now and Katie gave me the idea when she mentioned wanting to participate in a book review link-up…so it was the extra push for me.

(Just like today) Every 1st Wednesday of the month for the rest of this year i’ll be hosting “Book Worm Wednesday” on the blog. We’ll all talk about our favorite reads for that particular month and get ideas from each other on what to read next. So, mark your calendars for….

September 2
October 7
November 4
December 2

Use this graphic below and BOOK WORMS SHALL UNITE!!!! *Holds fist in air like superwoman*

bookwormwednesday

Ps. I added the link-up button today in case any of you are reviewing books like me on this fine Wednesday! 🙂

Comments on: "Books in July" (13)

  1. Love this idea! Always in the market for good book suggestions… and Husband’s Secret… addicting.

    Like

  2. Yay this is so fun, is this your first hosted linkup?! Happy to be a part of it! I have been thinking about starting my own linkup soon too…:)

    Thanks for hosting Molly! I loved the Vow the movie, made me cry. I’ll have to pick up that book one of these days.

    Like

  3. Katie Benedict said:

    I just realized this linkup said 1st Wednesday. PERFECT!! Ignore that part in my email 😉

    Like

  4. I have been wanting to read Let’s all be brave!!!
    I am so excited for your link up Molly! Will have to get reading!! Xo

    Like

    • When I post it on my “Shop My…” page you should check it out! And yes, it makes me so happy that people are wanting to participate in this link-up 🙂 I am so excited for September 2 now!! Can’t wait to see your reads!

      Like

  5. The angels are singing…I love this link up. Just wrote it in my planner. Also, sorry I abandoned you and your midnight blogging and fell asleep hahaha

    Like

    • You are such a good friend for always being so supportive and excited for me 🙂
      And yeah, seriously…maybe I should take that last sentence back. I needed advice on my graphic!!! Maybe my other one would’ve been better.

      Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud