This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

It’s fresh. It’s healthy (as healthy as mayo gets). It’s delicious. It’s a must make.

A couple weeks ago, I wanted to make the salmon burgers that i’ve had in the freezer. However, salmon burgers are kind of dry when you have one by itself. Back in the day I would have had some Tzatziki sauce, but that has lactose. So I did what any person would do when needing advice, I consulted google. Google’s first option said “Dill Mayo” and with that…I got creative, tweaked it, and came up with Basil Mayo.

BEWARE: You have to be super smart and have a lot of time to complete this little recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup mayo (use your kind, i’ll use mine!)
  • 8 basil leaves (fresh out of the garden is best), cut chiffonade
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper

IMG_9289

Process:

Put your mayo, lemon juice, and chiffonade basil leaves in a container. Mine was going straight to the fridge when I made it so I put it in a plastic container.

IMG_9290

Sprinkle your lemon pepper, salt, and cayenne pepper on top.

IMG_9292

Mix and enjoy. You can really taste the basil in this recipe and it is so fresh, especially out of the garden. The lemon brings out the basil and the fish for an experience your taste buds will thank you for!

IMG_9293

Serve your mayo atop your salmon burger with a side of snap peas, broccoli, brussels sprouts, you pick.

IMG_9287

The perfect lunch. And the best part? You can use this mayo on anything…not just a salmon burger!

basilmayorecipecard

Now see what I mean??? That took a lot of brainpower and a lot of time!

Comments on: "Basil Mayo (on a Salmon Burger)" (16)

  1. Yumm…it’s so ironic you posted this because I was just telling my roomie the other day how I’m on a mayo kick! I might have to spice up my mayo intake and try this!!

    Like

  2. My Urban Family said:

    Yum 🙂 I’ve been having tuna as a quick lunch – this sounds like it would be wonderful to add to a tuna sandwich!

    Like

  3. That looks really good! I’m going to try this this week on some fish I have in the freezer that I’ve been waiting to cook!

    Like

  4. rothseri said:

    Yummm! Looks delicious!!

    Like

  5. this looks amazing molly! i love a good salmon burger! thanks for sharing!

    Like

  6. Sounds delish!!! I’m coming over for dinner at your place 😉

    liz jo @sundays with sophie

    Like

  7. Sophia Rodriguez said:

    I don’t enjoy any type of fish anything, but that mayo does sound good!

    Like

  8. Ooh yum! Ketchup is my favorite condiment, but mayo is a close second 🙂 I have been loving chipotle mayo recently but this sounds “fresh” or something and would be good to change it up!! 🙂

    Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud