This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:24

Well, on December 7th mom turned another year older.

Mom doesn’t like her birthday. She said after you turn 50 it’s no fun. Even though I don’t really like my birthday, I don’t feel like anyone should not look forward to it. I knew I wanted to do something to make it at least a little special. I texted her the night before saying “Working a half day tomorrow…pick you up at 12 for lunch and shopping? You in??”

She agreed and we went to Lunch at Mama Pita mediterranean, shopped around a little bit, then I surprised her with a trip to a cupcake shop that I heard good things about and saw they had gluten free cupcakes. If there’s one thing to know about my mom it’s that she hates eating, like wants to create a pill that you can get nutrition without having to eat kind of thing. It’s just her. So I was like, “oh she won’t get excited over lunch and cupcakes”.

 IMG_9998

I got the only gluten free one they had, the “Triple Chocolate Torte” and mom got the “Peppermint Mocha”. They didn’t have seating at the cupcake shop, so we took them to the mall close by where we were going to shop.

IMG_9999

Mine was suuuuuuuper sweet with the icing and she had a lot on hers as you can see, so I used her icing on my cupcake. She told me “this is some good sh**” and it about made my day. You see, my mom is very hard to please. Doing something that she gets excited about is a challenge, so this was a huge win!

While we were shopping, dad called and wanted to get Chinese for dinner. He made reservations at this new restaurant and when we got there at 6:30 (prime eating time) NOBODY was there. It became a joke and I enjoyed laughing about it. We ended up just staying for appetizers and then leaving.

IMG_0001

We got dinner at a Hibachi grill nearby. The same one my surprise 13th birthday party was at 😉

IMG_0004

Mom on her birthday with her boys.

IMG_0005

The boys taught her to “dab”…what that means, I don’t know. But they wanted a picture. #teenagers

IMG_0006

Mom and 3/4 of her kids. Ahhh, I live for nights spent with family celebrating each other 🙂

IMG_0016

And just so you know, we did bring dad along…someone had to pay AM I RIGHT?!

IMG_0012

So on her birthday night she came back, opened her present from her best friend, and went to sleep. She’d already had her birthday sweet and Morgan told us we weren’t allowed to open presents without her. So we had to wait until Thursday night.

Morgan and I were talking back and forth for a while about what to get mom because she’s so hard to shop for…revert to the hard to please comment! I’m a person who would rather spend the money doing something than getting something so I came up with the idea of going to Painting with a Twist. This word document is all we gave her as her gift.

IMG_0045

Our first idea was to go bowling, but when we got to the alley it was closed. We ended up driving to some shops kind of nearby and looking around stores until our next event. But we had to get a picture by the big tree.

IMG_0055

Pictures in the dark are the worst – ugh!

IMG_0056

But we made mom get a picture with both of us 🙂

IMG_0063

Afterwards we went for appetizers. Mom and I have a thing for grilled artichokes. Give me all of them! We were outside so the lighting is awful. But just know these babies were devoured!

IMG_0064

Morgan and mom shared a pizza while I had spicy garlic noodles. Rice noodles with chicken, spices, and arugula on top! I took a bite of something hard…mom said it was the gristle and I about threw it up so I sent it back and they gave me a free dessert. They obviously didn’t catch on to the fact that I was g-free after I asked for that menu because it was full of gluten…

IMG_0065

Third and final stop of the night was at Painting with a Twist. We arrived at our class time to our name place set up, aprons, paint, and canvas ready and I wanted to take a selfie #duh, but Morgan had other ideas. She thinks she’s a model 😉

It’s girl’s night!!

IMG_0066

You sign up and pay online, walk in the studio at your class time, pop open your wine, and you’re taught how to paint the painting you sign up for. They allow you to bring your own wine, snacks, etc while providing bottle openers and cups.

IMG_0068

The class is two hours and the people in our class were joking around, gossiping, laughing, and having a good time. The instructor was bantering back and forth with the class too. There were 2 couples in our group, so while it was a fun girl’s night, it’s a perfect date night!

IMG_0070

She said that night that she really enjoyed it, but she was exhausted so we couldn’t really tell. The next morning I woke up to her texting us different options of paintings because she wanted to go back again. #ANOTHERWIN

IMG_0071

The three of us personally loved it because it was something different that we don’t normally do. Obviously, I wouldn’t say take younger guys (like my little brothers). My dad probably wouldn’t have liked it either. You’ve got to know your people, but I will say that it’s perfect for my mom’s age group. I think especially because they appreciate art/painting/that kind of thing more than my generation.

IMG_0073

It’s super fun because they all come back looking different, but the same. I’m asking mom where in the house we’re going to hang them 😉

Who did the best?????

IMG_0075

I’d have to say this birthday was a good one. Momma liked what she did and got things she wanted. PLUS we got to spend time with her, which I think she’d prefer over anything.

I’d highly recommend Painting with a Twist. See if they have one in your area. And because you might ask, we went to Gigi’s Cupcakes…they’re all over too!

Comments on: "Momma’s Birthday 2015" (19)

  1. What a fun day of celebrating! You guys are quite the artists too. I’ve taken one of those classes before and they’re a lot of fun. Happy birthday to your mom!

    Like

  2. My Urban Family said:

    So fun! I’ve always wanted to go to a painting night like that. I used to teach painting but I haven’t taken a class for fun myself! ha

    Like

  3. So glad you had fun celebrating with your mom! I love those painting classes…so fun!
    Kelsey
    http://www.thepeacockroost.com

    Like

  4. My mom bought all the girls in my family gift cards to a Paint Nite for our birthdays. I’m so excited to have a girls night there also! Looks so fun!

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday to your momma! Looks like she had a special few days to celebrate!

    Like

  6. Hahahaha your mom’s response to the cupcakes made my day!!! Also, oh my gosh at the ‘dabbing’! Michael is obsessed with it because a bunch of athletes do it as their celebration dance. He’s made me do it a bunch of times, and he makes up his own little variations of it. I love that your mom loved absolutely everything you guys did for her even though she can be hard to please. That makes it even better!

    Like

  7. Your paintings all turned out so good! Yay for celebrating wonderful mommas!

    Like

  8. So sorry I’m just now commenting!!!! I’ve been getting up at 5:15 EST to work OT so your blog isn’t up :((( But I love your birthday gift for your momma! Happy birthday to her! She has a great birthday 😉 But maybe I’m biased.

    Like

  9. I love doing those paint classes! We did the Eiffel Tower at the last one I went to…it actually turned out pretty good but you are so right…they all come out looking different! Happy Birthday to your mom!

    Like

  10. Those cupcakes look ah-mazing! And those painting classes are such fun!

    Like

Your comments make my day! xoxo

Tag Cloud